One-Shot Reviews #5

Hey y’all, welcome back to one-shot reviews, a segment where I quickly talk about animes that I’ve completed, Some which I didn’t like, Some of these didn’t have enough material to write or I never got an opportunity to put it over here. It can be any project from anywhere, maybe mangas, manhwas but primarily will feature anime and anime movies. Let’s get started

1. Dororo

I was watching Dororo last year but dropped it. I picked it up again for some time this year but honestly, I couldn’t get past episode 7 because it was awfully boring for me. This “getting a new body part” thing and the episodic content just felt dry to me even though the majority of people seemed to enjoy it. The animation and the concept is cool, it seemed promising to me but that soon died out. I will pick it up sometime later if I feel like I got some time to spare but so far it’s a no for me :[]

2. My broken Mariko

If you’ve been following my blog you already know I’ve been on a manga spree these past few weeks, The need for anime and the joy I used to get has kinda lost but I found a new appreciation for mangas. I used to like em but now it has become a necessity.

My broken Mariko is a short manga of under 6 chapters written and illustrated by Hirako Waka. It’s a story about a depressed and abused girl Mariko and her friend Tomoyo Shiino. The story starts off with the news of Mariko committing suicide and the story takes us on the journey where Shiino tries to travel one last time with Mariko to liberate her ashes. It has amazing art and beautiful dialogues which reached me. I loved the way they illustrated the characters. It’s short and fulfilling and leaves no loose ends which was the best part of the story. It’s a nice read and i suggest you check it out if you like these kinda stories too

3.Atatakai Yuki

This one shot messed me up man. I can’t say much about it but if you like getting shocked out of nowhere you definitely need to read this because wow I was confused and screaming. This could have been a solid short manga if the author continued to explore the story but I guess the shock value wouldn’t be the same. Get on this ASAP

4. Gokushufudou

Gokushufudou or The way of the House Husband written and illustrated by Kousuke Oono is published Shinchosha. I first heard about this after it’s anime adaptation was announced but the artist was really good and the anime didn’t get favorable reviews so I just started reading it. It’s funny and light, easily binge-able. It has that Daily life of HS boys vibe to it because sometimes it’s really stupid but nevertheless I loved reading it. It has these big shot Mafia dudes who get soft when they see their pets and Gang bosses who learn how to make flowers and food, It’s super fun.

5. The Other side of the mirror

I wanna finish off with another short MANHUA which I read yesterday, The author is Jo Chen and I couldn’t really find any other source for her. It’s about a chance meeting between two individuals in New York city which changes each others lives. It’s cliché and felt like it needed a lot more explanation and expansion because it had potential but what I really liked about it was the side stories and art. It had some interesting side stories and although I don’t really rate this very high it was a quick read. I could see this being serialized and getting attention if it was probably a Netflix original or an anime. I hope i can find some other work from Jo Chen let me know if you do

Conclusion

That’s the end for this post, Sorry for loads of manga reviews but I can’t help it, I really enjoy these. I finished watching Vinland Saga and all I will say is WOW, you gotta catch my thoughts on the next post. Colleges seem to be opening up and I’m not sure how I feel about it but it is what it is :/ Hope y’all are doing well, I’ll see you guys next time.

Thanks for reading, do check out other posts ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started